Eligibility and selection criteria

The New Frontiers in Extracellular Matrix Research Summer School is open to 40 PhD and Master students with diverse backgrounds including, but not limited to, life sciences, chemistry, engineering and clinical medicine. It welcomes applications from students at ETH Domains and any institution around the world.

The school is dedicated primarily to the PhD students and advanced Masters students. However, junior PostDocs are encouraged to apply and will be considered if there is still room available.

Applicants need to have a strong interest in the topic and basic knowledge in cell and matrix biology. Active participation throughout the programme is expected.

Application process:

 Admission to the school is highly selective and will be decided upon a selection made by the organizing committee based on:

  • A curriculum vitae (CV),
  • motivation letter,
  • Research abstract (max. 250 words) submitted in the registration form (only for PhD and PostDocs).

Application deadline is July 1st, 2018. We encourage interested applicants to apply early, as we anticipate the School to become oversubscribed (full) before this deadline. Click here to submit an application.

Admitted students will receive a further information (by July 15th) for the payment of the participation fees: 270 CHF for doctoral students, and 150 CHF for master’s students.

The registration fee includes registration, accommodation (for students coming from outside of Zurich), lunch and refreshments for the duration of the summer school.

Poster Guidelines

A0, Portrait format: 841mm x 1189mm. Please ensure that your poster does not exceed this size. You may be requested to present your poster during a flash presentation (3 minutes presentation).

ECTS credits (Optional)

Students can acquire up to 2 ECTS credits. 1) One credit is acquired by attending and actively participating in all the lectures and workshops. 2) A second credit is acquired by submitting an abstract (max. 250 words), and presenting the research poster and/or a 3-minutes flash presentation.

  • ETH Zurich students: Credit points  will be approved by Prof. Jess G. Snedeker.
  • EPFL students: ECTS points will be awarded through the Doctoral Program in Biotechnology and Bioengineering (EDBB).